Sunday, July 04, 2004

Mississippi Musicians Hall of Fame coming to Jackson International Airport

The Mississippi Musicians Hall of Fame, in existence since 1998 but homeless, is set to open soon at the Jackson International Airport, where nearly two million travelers pass through annually. The 5,326-square foot museum/restaurant will resemble a Hard Rock Cafe and will be at the entrance to the airport's west concourse.

Six years into its existence, the Hall of Fame has 64 inductees. Among the items to be displayed will be Elvis' birth certificate and draft card, a one-of-a-kind Robert Johnson model guitar made by Gibson, Cochran's gold records he wrote for Patsy Cline and a costume worn by 'N Sync's Lance Bass in concert. A CD of the Hall of Fame's members will provide background music. There is a small stage set for live performances also.

Who's In:

John Alexander - Meridian
Ruby Pearl Elzy - Pontotoc
Elizabeth Taylor Greenfield - Natchez
Samuel Jones - Inverness
Willard Palmer - McComb
Leontyne Price - Laurel
William Grant Still - Woodville
Walter Turnbull - Greenville

Hank Cochran - Greenville
Faith Hill - Star
Elsie McWilliams - Meridian
Ben Peters - Greenville
Charlie Pride - Sledge
Jimmie Rodgers - Meridian
Conway Twitty - Friars Point
Tammy Wynette - Tremont

Mose Alisson - Tippo
Milt Hinton - Vicksburg
Jimmie Lunceford - Fulton
Cassandra Wilson - Jackson
Gerald Stanley Wilson - Shelby
Lester Young - Woodville

Rhythm and Blues
Little Milton Campbell - Inverness
Sam Cooke - Clarksdale
Bo Diddley - McComb
John Lee Hooker - Clarksdale
Dorothy Moore - Jackson
Davis Ruffin - Meridian

Willie Dixon - Vicksburg
Robert Johnson - Hazlehurst
B.B. King - Itta Bena
Charlie Patton - Edwards
Muddy Waters - Rolling Fork
Howlin' Wolf - White Station

James Blackwood/Blackwood Brothers - Ackerman
Canton Spirituals - Canton
Mississippi Mass Choir/Frank Williams - Jackson
Pop Staples/Staples Singers - Winona

Lance Bass - Laurel/Clinton
Guy Hovis - Tupelo
Van Dyke Parks - Hattiesburg
Nanette Workman - Jackson

Rock and Roll
Jimmy Buffett - Pascagoula
Jerry Lee Lewis - Nesbit
Elvis Presley - Tupelo
Ike Turner - Clarksdale
Mary Wilson - Greenwood

Theater/Broadway Movie
Glen Ballard - Natchez
Dee Barlton - Houston/Starkville
Olu Dara - Natchez
Lehman Engel - Jackson
Mundell Lowe - Laurel
Mary Ann Mobley - Brandon
Lloyd Wells - Laurel

Production/Recording Promotion
Blackberry Records - Summit
Delta Records/Jimmie Ammons - Jackson
Johnny Vincent (John Imbragulio) - Laurel
Malaco Records - Jackson
Willard and Lillian McMurry - Jackson
Peavey Electronics/Hartley Peavey - Meridian
H. C. Speir - Jackson

Marty Stuart - Philadelphia

Skeets McWilliams - Jackson


Post a Comment

<< Home