Friday, September 24, 2004

Two Mississippi counties added to aid list

Clarke and Lauderdale counties on Sept. 22 were added to the federal disaster declaration for aid to help those suffering from Hurricane Ivan. The Federal Emergency Management Association (FEMA)added the two counties to the Sept. 15 declaration by President Bush that gives federal aid to homeowners, renters and businesses affected by Ivan.

The assistance can include grants to pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other hurricane-related expenses not met by insurance or other aid programs. Low-interest loans from the Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Also, Jasper and Wayne counties were added to those eligible for public assistance. Their local governments will get help for the repair and replacement of damaged facilities and for debris removal and emergency protective measures.

Clarke and Lauderdale county residents and business owners who sustained losses from the storm can begin the disaster application process by calling the toll-free registration number 1-800-621-3362, or 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free numbers are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week until further notice.


Post a Comment

<< Home